Roger F. Murray Prize

The Roger F. Murray Prize is conducted annually to recognize excellence and scientific achievement in quantitative financial research. Each year, three prizes ($5,000; $3,000; and $2,000) are awarded to individuals who present outstanding research at the Q Group’s seminars.

Criteria for the award include originality and novelty of ideas and concepts, usefulness and timeliness of the results to the investment community, and comprehensibility of verbal and written presentations.

2021 Winners
View Past Winners

About Roger Murray

Roger F. Murray was an economist whose financial acumen made him a frequent adviser to members of Congress and business leaders during the 1950’s and 60’s. As a vice president of the Bankers Trust Company and later a business professor at Columbia University, Dr. Murray helped untangle some of America’s most frustrating problems. In 1962, Dr. Murray, an originator of the individual retirement account concept, worked for passage of the Keogh Act, which enabled self-employed people to have tax-deferred pension accounts. Many of Mr. Murray’s other opinions were particularly forward thinking. In 1952, he warned banks to pursue aggressive equity portfolios, noting that “timing wasn’t everything” when trading stocks. That same year, he opposed a plan by Senator Albert Gore of Tennessee, to tax executive stock options, contending that salaries were not enough to lure executives away from established companies. At Bankers Trust, Mr. Murray quickly found his specialty in investment strategy and, in 1956, carried that specialty to Columbia University, where he was associate dean, S. Sloan Colt Professor of Banking and Finance, professor emeritus and distinguished lecturer. He retired from Columbia in 1978.

Roger Franklin Murray was born Oct. 11, 1911 and graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Yale in 1932. He then earned M.B.A. and Ph.D. degrees from the New York University Graduate School of Business Administration. Murray died on April 13, 1998 at 86 years old.”